• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Winchester M1917**Pic Heavy**

Boydo

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 13, 2011
Washington, IL
Just picked up a Winchester M1917 in 30-06. I love these old service rifles. If anyone knows anything about this rifle let me know. Im just beginning to learn about them. It has a "W" marked rear sight and bolt. The barrel is an Eddystone i believe. It is stamped "E" 9-18. It has a very good bore and the stock has no cracks or major dings. The cartouches are very distinct. I cant wait to shoot this thing. Ive heard they're real good shooters.
DVxBEIN.jpg

K8qyXIj.jpg

2OshOyC.jpg

t3y95h4.jpg

Last edited:
thats a mighty fine rifle, I've always been curious about the 1917, looks like just a really strange 1903. how is that rear sight?

I have yet to shoot it but so far i really like it. Been rubbing kroil and linseed oil on the stock and metal and its really coming back to life. Gonna clean her real good before i go to the range. Really expect it to shoot good. The rifling is strong and the bore is bright.

Look at the front flat of the stock, like looking down the barrel, the makers stamp will be there,be a e,r,or w see if you gots a winny stock or nots

Very cool!
I have an Eddystone and love it! Very precise, strong as an ox, and beautiful!

Congrats on your purchase. The 'ugly duckling' of US milsurp rifles. My grandfather carried one in WWI and is why I purchased ... was also carried/used by Sergeant York, the most decorated soldier in WWI.

My experience with one in the family is that it's one solid, accurate, and reliable Service Rifle. My only quibble is with those gawdawful ears in the rear sight area; but they don't stop it from being a decent shooter

Nice fine. I have a SC and its a shooter.