• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Wind Turret on Top, Elevation Turret on Left Question

AznTactical

Really bad at math.
Minuteman
Feb 1, 2018
Wisconsin
I got a chance to play with a Kahles K525 scope with left windage this weekend and LOVED it but it got me thinking. I am not an optical engineer or designer but why can't scopes have the top turrets be windage and the side turrets be elevation? Is it an internal issue that is limiting the design?

turret.JPG

Last edited:
Well, for one, if it’s just off the bench, that’s fine.

For dynamic shooting like PRS, it would be horrible. Take a right handed right eye dominant person.

You shouldn’t be using your left hand to dial unless moving from a position. So you’d want it on your right side for your right hand. But, you wouldn’t be able to see it in your peripheral or just lifting your head up. You’d have to crane your neck and head way over to the right.

So, it would only work for bench shooting. And anything works at the bench, so it’s not a lucrative idea for any optics company.

I’ve seen that before. Can easily be found if you visit a public range on the weekend. They just rotate their scopes in the rings so wind is on top and elevation is on the left. Boom. #TheFuture

On a serious note, I’m not smart enough to know if there’s an engineering factor here or just history.

The French had a rifle scope with side mounted (albeit right side) elevation/top windage on the FRF1.
It actually makes sense from a tactical perspective.

For dynamic shooting like PRS, it would be horrible. Take a right handed right eye dominant person.