• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report wondering about .308 terminal ballistics...

tobylazur

Private
Minuteman
Sep 12, 2007
I was thinking about shortening the barrel on my .308, but it got me thinking about terminal ballistics.

Does a .308 need a certain velocity to be effective like .223? What would be an effective range for a rifle with a 18''-20'' barrel? (I know that they are accurate out to 800+ yards)

Sorry for all the ignorant sounding questions. I'm just getting into long range shooting.

Re: wondering about .308 terminal ballistics...

The need for speed in .223 is for both of the USGI loadings. FMJ is the problem.

In FMJ .308s, the only one that was NOT reported to give not-so-terminally effective pencil wounding was some West German steel jacket stuff that used a fairly thin jacket.

Use an A-Max or a thinner-jacket HPBT match bullet and that changes a lot.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: 308sako</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Killed a Moose in Newfoundland with a 20" Sako .308 carbine, range about 450 yards... better bullet selection would have helped. But the Moose only ran about 50 yards after the broadside lung hit. Second round (I failed to lead him) went through both hams and his scortum... <span style="font-style: italic"><span style="font-weight: bold">put him down right there</span></span>. Dead when we got to him.</div></div>

SCROTUM.............OUCH

I'm told there's a special hell for folks who do that sort of thing
eek.gif
wink.gif

I've killed deer out to 660 yards with a 20" .308. My favorite bullet is the AMAX. Really hammers the deer. I use 168s mostly. I have also used 150 grain soft points and they work good too, they aren't as accurate though.