• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Woud like input from experienced 308 shooters

Svartur_Skuggi

Private
Minuteman
Oct 22, 2010
Jefferson ; Texas
Good Morning All
smile.gif

I'm new to Sniper's Hide and would first and foremost like to say Hi to everyone. I've been lurking this site for some time.... reading and researching alot that i've read; but now I figured it's time to join up and ask my questions from those that are more experienced than myself.

I have been looking at bolt action rifles for about the last 6 months. I've spoken to Tactical Rifles /McMillan / Remington/ and Savage Arms about custom and factory rifles.
Now first off I dont mind spending a couple of grand (2000-5000) on a good rifle. However, I want to make sure that if I'm going to spend that much, that I'm getting what I am paying for.
Afew of the custom companies had quotes up to $8000.00, and IF their rifles do what they say they can do (as long as I do my part) I wouldnt mind spending even that much. But I'm a sinic, and trust very few sales people or companies trying to sale THEIR product.

So, I am coming here to ask everyone what rifle or rifle set up (and from which company....if custom) I should use.
I am wanting to buy a tactical bolt action rifle. I'd like it to have the ability to shoot .5 MOA or less at 600 yards. I will be running with a Night Force scope with an in-line system for night vision. I'd prefer the caliber to be a .308.

I have looked at Savage Arms 10BAS/K, Sako TRG 22's/ Remington's SPS Rifles/ and a crap load of custom makers.
If you suggest Savages or Sako's rifles......do they also need to be trued or are they good from the get go, or are they a waste of my time and need to go custom?