• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Would like your thoughts...

Btrain

Shooter up!
Supporter
Minuteman
Dec 3, 2013
KS
In all my wisdom, I purchased an unopened case of Eley Match quite awhile back from a member. Just getting into 22 and thought it was a great price on a premium round so leaped before I looked. Now that I have opened the case the Im wondering if its a problem or not - The rounds have a pretty heavy wax that looks a bit weird.

I'm pretty new to rimfire and just want to make sure its ok to run and not something I will regret due to condition

Appreciate the Newb advice

Attachments

• IMG_2048.jpg
    IMG_2048.jpg
    440.8 KB · Views: 85
  • IMG_2049.jpg
    IMG_2049.jpg
    432.7 KB · Views: 84
  • IMG_2050.jpg
    IMG_2050.jpg
    561.6 KB · Views: 85
It is showing some age, but not bad. Eley uses a fairly heavy wax. That is pre-EPS ( I think that is what they call it) ammo. I do not believe you will harm anything, I would clean my barrel then shoot 10 or so rounds listening to the bang and making sure you see a new hole the paper and then start to see it shoots for accuracy.

This is the main reason I don't use Eley ammo, in my experience the wax they use seems to really gum up everything, action, bolt, everything it comes into contact with. Other brands they make (Wolf) have the same waxy lube, for me it's just not worth having to clean all this gummy shit off everything. Have a couple bricks sitting in the safe I don't plan on using except as a last resort.

Reactions: JKW70
Maybe, just send an email to eley...?