• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

WTF is up with Federal 45ACP Brass!!!

oneshot onekill

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 29, 2008
DeBary, Florida
So I'm just getting into reloading Pistol Calibers. Started with 45ACP. Got Large Pistol Primers. Picked up a bunch of brass the last time I was at the range. Jackpot! Right? WRONG!!! I discovered the hard way that Federal Brass uses SMALL Pistol Primers. I'm going to sound like an Idiot here but I just spent about an Hour trying to figure out why my Progressive Press won't put Large Pistol Primers into Small Pistol Primer Pockets? Went so far as to take the press apart and clean it. Even had one go off on me when I got so frustrated that I pushed it a little harder than I should have. I'm sure this has been covered but I figure it's never bad to bring up things like this every once in a while. Some of us don't dig very deep when we're researching "How-to's"

Re: WTF is up with Federal 45ACP Brass!!!

Yep!

This comes up about twice per month.

Sorry to hear you detonated a primer forcing something you shouldn't have.

Other headstamps with small primers:

Win NT
Blazer brass
Speer (not all)

Some of us pitch 'em, some recycle, some keep separate to load for "lost brass" shoots.

All of us watch what we're picking up at the range.

Develop "the feel" so you'll know immediately whats going on when you atteto prime one with a large primer.

Thanks for the heads up on some of the other brands. My reloading manuals are relatively old and I understand this is a relatively new development. I'll be chuckin' the Federal Brass in the garbage from now on!