• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report XM118 question

Addicted

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 1, 2009
Upstate, South Carolina
I'm new to bolt guns and shooting for accuracy. I have a new Tikka T3 tactical in .308. I have a 500 round case of XM118 175 gr HP long range rounds w/ Lake City LR headstamp. 2005 manufacture date on them.

I took the new T3 out to the range with a friend of mine who has shoot for years, however, primarily for hunting w/ hunting rifles. I shot the first round of this ammo and ran a clean patch down the tube. He kinda freaked out and said that the ammo was too dirty and that he wouldn't shoot that ammo through this gun if I intended to shoot it for accuracy, etc... I had a couple of boxes of Black Hills match that I shot the rest of the day.

However, I have 499 rounds left of this ammo. Anyone with experience with this ammo that can give me the lowdown on it? Is it bad ammo for LR shooting and should be sold, or is my buddy over reacting?

Thanks in advance.

Re: XM118 question

M118 LR are what the military snipers use. It is good ammo but handloads can be better as far as accuracy sounds to me like your buddy is over reacting. I would continue to shoot it is GTG

I got some of it, more than likely from the same place you got yours and I'll tell you what if you don't like it I'll buy it from you.

It's .5 moa out of my savage in my unskilled hands.

I want some more of it!

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Addicted</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'm new to bolt guns and shooting for accuracy. I have a new Tikka T3 tactical in .308. I have a 500 round case of XM118 175 gr HP long range rounds w/ Lake City LR headstamp. 2005 manufacture date on them.