• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hunting & Fishing Y’all talk me out of a 22-250

king1886ranch

Minuteman
Feb 27, 2017
It’s time for a new coyote rig! I’ve been using a Savage 12fv 22-250 suppressed for about 6-7 years for prairie dogs, coyotes, deer and everything in between. I’ve always loved the cartridge but it’s time for a new rifle. That one is falling apart, it needs a new trigger and a new barrel, I think I’d rather just buy or build a new setup.

Is 22-250 the way to go or am I missing a better factory cartridge? I don’t want to reload this one, I just want to find a good factory load.

Me personally I would rather go .223. I've had issues with barrel life on the 250 in the past. My 2 cents

Me personally I would rather go .223. I've had issues with barrel life on the 250 in the past. My 2 cents

The barrel life really didn't bother me to bad, I'm used to 2,000 round barrels. I would guess that's about where mine fell apart.

One of {if not} the best varmint calibers out there. You already have all the fixin's for it. Better buy another one. Down the road you can rebarrel this one and AI, it. I have 3- 250's & 2-250AI's. Deer and goats with it, In WY. Versitale.

It’s time for a new coyote rig! I’ve been using a Savage 12fv 22-250 suppressed for about 6-7 years for prairie dogs, coyotes, deer and everything in between. I’ve always loved the cartridge but it’s time for a new rifle. That one is falling apart, it needs a new trigger and a new barrel, I think I’d rather just buy or build a new setup.

Is 22-250 the way to go or am I missing a better factory cartridge? I don’t want to reload this one, I just want to find a good factory load.