• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Night Vision Yep…another “what thermal scanner” for a newbie.

BgBmBoo

Gunny Sergeant
Supporter
Minuteman
Hi folks.
I am new to the whole thermal world. But have read a bunch here and other forums.

I’m looking at the Super Yoter for a scope but from what I have read, a dedicated scanner is very important.

I‘m not a money Is no object kinda guy, but like to get good equipment.

Thanks in advance.

Good call on the yoter. I'd go with the phenom and keep it all Bering Optics. I haven't got to look through a phenom yet but was impressed with the yoter.

Although I would never recommend Pulsar anything I have a Lexion which is good overall. I like the rechargeable battery and fov. I don't like it's bigger size and don't care to have a recording option. (streamvision has never worked for me or anyone I know on any of their stuff anyways)

Reactions: kirsch
If your budget factors in I'd recommend going as good as you can on the scanner and settle some on the rifle scope. Your scanner will be your most used tool.

I'm leery of the binocular style scanners because I'm really blinded when taking my eye off the scanner. To me it would leave me feeling disoriented going to the rifle scope if that makes any sense

Reactions: pabrousseau
hands free head mounted scanning is the way. the more people i turn onto it the more things they see and kill. walking in on set scanning is a huge benefit vs scanning occasionally. keeping your hands free, warm and shoulders/arms from being torched from holding up a scanner all night is invaluable to me.

nvision nox, ir patrol, iray mh25 is where its at. you can custom fab something like the hogster to helmet mount if necessary as well.

Reactions: DIBBS