• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Your input please!

FlashGordon

Private
Minuteman
Feb 20, 2011
TX, U.S.A.
Ok, here is my dilemma. I am new to the game and am building my first (ever) rifle. I've gone with the parts listed below and would like some input on finished barrel length including the brake. I decided on .308 win for versatility and availability of both match and hunting ammunition. I intend to use the rifle for hunting white tail deer and hogs here in TX, as well as 100/200/600 and eventually 1000 yard target shooting. Since I couldn't decide how long of a barrel I wanted, I ordered a 31" blank.

So, what say you Sniper's Hide readers?

Defiance Machine action w/ Guardian mag inlet
Rock creek 31" 5r 1:10 "1000 yard" contour barrel
Jewell trigger
APA Fat bastard brake
AICS 1.5

/flame suit ON
smile.gif

Re: Your input please!

Go with 18 or 20" and not look back. Lowlight has posted about his 18" Gladious(?) shooting very well to 1000. A bud of mine has a GAP Rock with a 20" that shoots lights-out. Lots of threads here on shorter .308s. Sounds like you will have a fine rifle when all said and done.

nothing really wrong with that. 31" is a little long. some people are going to jump on the "so and so hits 1000yd steel with 18" barrels", but just stay the course. I like the plain ol' 22" and 24" barrels for .308.