• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

1/10 MIL "clicks" on MIL turret question

csireeves

End of line
Minuteman
Apr 15, 2008
Tulsa, OK
I get that 1/10 MIL turrets equates to 10 "clicks" on the turret for 1 MIL of adjustment (unless I am mathing wrong). If I was using the MILS (in a FFP scope) to determine how far off I am from POA/POI and was, let's say, 3 MILS any direction then I would need 30 "clicks" on the appropriate turret in the correct direction to make the adjustment. Let's also assume I am zeroing at 100 yards. Is this correct? I am just getting into long range shooting and am referencing what I have heard and read (videos and forums). If someone spotting says the shooter needs "3 clicks up" then would that equate to 3/10 of a MIL (assuming 1/10 MIL turret)? Am I getting this somewhat right or am I way off the mark?

yes, you are correct. usually a good spotter will tell you your correction. instead of saying "3 clicks up" they will tell you ".3 up" but you are on the right path. if you miss by .5 mils then you adjust (or hold) .5 mils

You are correct - but I don't like it when anyone speaks in "clicks" or counts clicks. Too much room for confusion. If I look at my reticle an see that I'm off .3mil, I don't then think "3 clicks", I think .3 mil.

If you have a mil scope, you should be told to come up 3 tenths of a mil. I would then grab the turret and count 3 clicks but anything much beyond that, I will look at my turret and put the dial where it belongs. If I needed to come up a full mil, I woulnd't count 10 clicks. If I was at 3.1, I would put the dial at 4.1. This is why I prefer mils to MOA - decimal math is easier.