• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

.223 COAL Testing Questions

G

cook1536XCorporal
Rating: 0.0/5 this site
52 posts this site
.223 COAL Testing questions
01/06/2017

I have been lingering around the hide for a long time now and have picked up a lot of good tips and advice for learning long range and precision shooting. I am new to rifle re-loading and am starting to venture into adjusting loads now that i have the basics. I have ladder tested BL-C(2), Benchmark, and Varget with 55 gr V-Max in Hornady full length resized brass with CCI primers at the book COAL of 2.250 in my R700 SPS Tactical. I found that 24.0 gr of Varget produced the tightest repeatable groups out of all 3 powders. As I have been loading I have been reading about different things to do to a cartridge on SH and along with wanting to test some neck resize only,the main thing i am wanting to play around with is the COAL, i want to squeeze every scrap of accuracy I can out of what I have so my question is this, with the given COAL of 2.250 on my current load (according to the manual) should I use this as the middle ground and adjust above and below this measurement? Also what increments up/down from middle would you start with and how far do you go before you draw the line on an absolute longer or shorter COAL? My plan is once i get all this learned and tested in 55 gr. and find that absolute perfect load for my gun, I am going to start load development on the 69 gr. Sierra TMK and 69 gr. Hornady BTHP and get this baby stretched out to 600-1000 yds.

thanks,

cook1536

Rate now:
BrettdecXSergeant
Rating: 3.1/5 this site
114 posts this site
Re: .223 COAL Testing questions
01/06/2017