• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hunting & Fishing .308 for midsize game????

usmcmk12

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 4, 2013
California
If any of you hunt with a .308 I was wondering what grain bullets you like to use for Deer and Wild Boar? I'm new to hunting, but I shoot a lot of the 175 SMKs at steal. I'm thinking it might not be the best round for Deer/Boar. Thoughts?

If any of you hunt with a .308 I was wondering what grain bullets you like to use for Deer and Wild Boar? I'm new to hunting, but I shoot a lot of the 175 SMKs at steal.

YES! YES! YES! YES! for F@CK sakes YES!

I'm thinking it might not be the best round for Deer/Boar.

You are very mistaken, to the level of full retard.

Where is everyone getting this idea that a 308 with whatever match bullet they like is not effective on deer? There have been several of these threads lately.

Here are just a few detailed threads from the FIRST PAGE of the hunting forum, read through them and you shall have your answer. You will also notice a common trend in the discussions, at least I hope you will notice. But I'll give you a hint in case your Fu is off; No bullet is perfect, and every bullet can fail. Shot placement is the closest thing to a guarantee you can get. Pick a bullet, (practically any bullet) and go with it, practice till you think you cant miss. Then your close.

http://www.snipershide.com/shooting/snipers-hide-hunting-fishing/196168-hornady-amax-hunting.html

http://www.snipershide.com/shooting.../106997-post-your-smk-match-bullet-kills.html

http://www.snipershide.com/shooting/snipers-hide-hunting-fishing/221179-best-308-bullet-deer.html

http://www.snipershide.com/shooting...547-berger-185gr-juggernaut-deer-results.html