• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

.44 special rifle load

evilcoon

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 5, 2012
Farmington Hills, MI
I'm a newb so excuse my dumbness

I had a friend bring some of his magnum loads to the range so I can try out some reloads and I was impressed. Now I'd like to load the same 240gr wadcutter in .44 special.

I currently have some winchester 231 powder, so my question is will magnum primers work on both?

I don't think I would use 231 for a magnum load in .44 Special, do some research on Elmer Keith's loading of the .44 Special before you try that!

Magnum primers are completely unnecessary with 231 and could be problematic, but yeah, they will get the fire lit...

I'm a newb so excuse my dumbness

I had a friend bring some of his magnum loads to the range so I can try out some reloads and I was impressed. Now I'd like to load the same 240gr wadcutter in .44 special.

I currently have some winchester 231 powder, so my question is will magnum primers work on both?

According to a Lee manual you can load your .44 mag cases to .44 special velocity with 5.5 to say 6.5 gr. of 231/HP38 and avoid the carbon ring in your chamber. Lee manual states 5.5 to get 800fps. I have done this with WAP and WLPM primers with good results. All the usual loading cautions apply.