• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

6.5 Creedmoor die set recommendations?

FlashAndPoof

Private
Minuteman
Feb 25, 2017
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Willing to spend up to $200 or so on a set of reloading dies for 6.5 Creedmoor. I'm relatively new to rifle reloading and it's such a big jump from pistol reloading. What die set would you guys recommend or have bought for 6.5 Creedmoor?

One really nice thing about the creedmoor, is that it's a relatively new cartridge, designed from the start as a match round. Hornady did a good job spec'ing it's dimensions. Where some cartridges are wildly different between their normal saami versions, to the "match" iterations, the creedmoor seems to be pretty consistently minimum spec, even on factory rifles. I'm talking body dimensions here, not throat/freebore. Ive got three die sets for the creedmoor, and they all seem to be very well dimensioned. The hornady "match" die set is nice, and reasonanly priced. So it the Forster. Whidden's are just bitchin, I love mine. You'll be way under budget, with those three. $200 is creeping up on custom die money. Custom is nice, but i'd only recommend that if you owned the reamer or were real comfy with your ability to replicate that chamber on subsequent barrels(like you and your gunsmith are drinking buddies). Otherwise youre just wasting money.

Reactions: DB03