• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

a few questions.

awz1287

Private
Minuteman
Sep 4, 2011
North Carolina
Hey, I finally got all my stuff in to put together my rifle, a Remington 700 5R mil-spec; I just have a few questions being this is my first time setting up a scoped rifle.

1. Is it normal for the 700's to come from the factory so dusty? when I got the rifle the box was taped like from the factory but, when it was opened the rifle was all dusty and covered in Styrofoam pieces and like plastic shavings, also the stock had some edges with fiberglass shavings still hanging off, like from the molding and "spider web" finish. Is this normal, I have bought many new handguns and rifles/shotguns and they are not usually like that, though this is my first Remington gun.

2. When I get a new gun I always clean it before shooting. With the 700 should I remove the stock when I clean for the first time or just use a bore guide and do the barrel, chamber, bolt, and wipe down exposed metal?
Also how often should I take the stock off and disassemble the bolt for cleaning? Is the torque 65 in/lbs. for this gun?

3. Is this video accurate on a scope install http://youtu.be/lQgXPA4A2J0 I have the Badger ordnance instructions also which I will use too.

4. Where should I place the rings on the base? I know on the scope they should be as far apart as possible but when I do that there is some room on the base. Should it be centered on the base, or to the front?

5. should I use the Tubb Final Finish Ammo and TMS Ammo (the pre-loaded ones) for the first range trip to break in the barrel?

sorry for all the questions.
Thanks,
Anthony Z.

Re: a few questions.