• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Acceptable zero on Nightforce ATACR 7-35

Greymount

Private
Minuteman
Feb 5, 2021
Northern Ohio
I am new to precision rifle shooting and I am wondering if this is an acceptable 100 yard zero? Should I try to tweak it a little more or am I good as is. I am using a Nightforce ATACR 7-35 on a 6.5 Creedmoor MPA Hybrid Hunter.
IMG_0476.jpeg

Short answer, yes. Very few of my scopes and loads will zero-out dead-nuts on the bull. Atmospheric changes happen, burn rates vary from lot-to-lot, bullets vary from lot-to-lot, and it can cause slight shifts like that. And sometimes you might be slightly "off" that day, or your eyes might be tired that day, it's just any number of things, but IMO, yes, that's an acceptable zero.

The way I look at it is, if you're only 1/4-1/2" off center, I don't think a deer's heart will know the difference when the bullet turns it into jello moving through it at 1,500+ FPS.

If the center of the group is equal to or more than the value of the minimum adjustment of the optic, then move the zero. If not, then you can't (without going to the other side of the center).

I'd personally move it over .1mil left (or .25moa if using moa). Especially if it's a right hand twist barrel. Even if it pushes it all the way to the exact left side of the center from where you are, you're better off having your zero off to the left on a right hand twist barrel.

I'd move it to the left, either .1 mil (.36 inches @ 100 yards) or .25 moa (.25 inches @ 100 yards). Windage is easy to reset turrets. Elevation looks good.

Last edited:
Reactions: simonp and Secant
If the four corner shots were the last four fired I would not move it as three were slightly left of perfect.