• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Adventures with H100V in .260 Remington Improved

Spot-on

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 26, 2013
[Standard Disclaimer: The below info was of interest in my gun, yours will be different so start at minimum book load and be careful and watchful working up.]

Lots of detailed info below, but there is the summary:

I started playing with Hodgon's H100V in my .260AI. Found a very accurate load at good velocity. The best group was found at 44.7 grains H100V at 2911 fps velocity with a SMK 142 gr bullet. The remaining big unanswered question is: What will be the temperature sensitivity?

Details:

Gun: .260 Remington AI, New 24 inch Krieger barrel, 1:8 twist. All testing done with Lapua 260 Rem. cases pre-fire-formed and resized, necks trimmed to length and shaved to consistent thickness, set to maximum AICS mag length (this is why I didn't try to further improve the load later by trying OAL variations). All testiing with Sierra MatchKing 142 gr bullets coated with Boron Nitride (BN).

I decided I should develop a proper load with this new barrel rather than just winging it with ballpark loads suggested on the Internet. So I prepared for the following regimen (carefully recording atmospheric data each time):

1. Rough ladder test from 41.0 to 46.0 grains of H100V to find node(s) with minimal elevation change.
2. Once node found, play with 0.3 gr. powder changes and look for best group.
3. Chronograph best load found and plot data
4. Perform scope alignment per Brian Litz instructions
5. Zero at 100
4. Test ballistic software predictions (come-ups) at 300 and 600 yards.