• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Advice needed - bad batch of powder, primers, brass?

Snipers

Private
Minuteman
Jun 6, 2009
Used Win 760 for some 8mm reloads. I bought 2 lbs from a reputable reloading dealer at a gun show about 6 weeks ago. The first 1 lbs container worked nicely, and I had no issues. The second container has been unusual.

I was using "virgin" 8mm Hornady brass (I have never used before), CCI primers (last 50 in a 100 round pack; purchased in a 1000 pack and still have about half). Well - about 75% of my reloads went off, but they were very dirty and had some .5 second hang fires. The other 25% didn't really ignite. the primer went off, pushed the bullet about an inch into the barrel. The powder was clumped in the case. The smell was unusual for smokeless powder. Sort of like a rotten egg. The second container had the same batch number as the first. I only tried about 10 rounds and had 2 or 3 that didn't ignite (just primer). Stopped for safety reasons, and I broke the remaining ammo back into components and storing separately. The primer holes in the brass are open and I would say are large enough for the spark to make it through. I didn't prep the brass at all (clean or resize). The brass is a little undersized in comparson to some other brass I have, but not out of spec. This could account for some of the dirtiness.

I'm thinking the powder is bad, but the first pound worked good (same batch) I'm also thinking somone could have done a "switch" at the show. Are there any powder "scams" going on? Difficult, but a possibility. Has winchester put out any bad powder recently? What do you think!

How does the powder in the "bad" pound compare, visually, to the powder from the "good" pound?