• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Anyone rucked the App Trail?

ZLBubba

Sergeant
Supporter
Minuteman
Jan 15, 2009
Maryland
I've been looking into taking on a real adventure for a while and I think this is going to be it. I'm a contractor these days and should be heading to A-stan in a few months. With the deployment cash, I figure I'll easily have enough for my wife to take care of herself while I'm on the AT and get decent gear that will hold up to the 5 month punishment of every day use.

I've hiked Mt Rogers in VA and that part of the trail is gorgeous. Absolutely God's country up there. I've always loved rucking anyway and taking an extended time off work to do it would be great before the kids start coming.

Has anyone rucked the full trail? Parts? I had a college buddy do the AT and is now a full-time sponsored backpacker. Here's his site. Skurka's a great dude. I think he's done the whole Appalachian Trail, the Pacific Trail, Coast-to-Coast, and the Alaska-Yukon Loop. Pretty impressive if you ask me.

Re: Anyone rucked the App Trail?

I have rucked a lot of the trail, not all at once tho.

Longest outing was started at the Southern Terminus them made my way North over 100 miles in less than 4 days. No where near the full trail but it was awesome. Distance was measure in FGD so who knows what it was conidering the elevation changes and cut backs.

One of those things I will continue to do and will remember it forever. Especially the Benton Mackaye, Coosa Bald, Springer...

v5l3i8.jpg

2z5oz7p.jpg