• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

ar15 dies

losthelegend

Private
Minuteman
Oct 26, 2009
South Western Wyoming
I have began to reload some AR223 rounds and am using a RCBS FL 223 rem die set. I heard that I should be using a small base die set. I am fairly new to reloading and am curious as to why? and what the difference is between full dies and small base dies. Any help would greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for you time and explanations.

Re: ar15 dies

Small base dies size cases slightly smaller than regular dies. Since they don't have the powerful bolt closing camming action of a bolt rifle, some semi-autos with tight chambers won't feed reloaded ammo unless the cases were sized in a small base die.

I've loaded for a couple of AR-15 rifles as well as several other semi-auto rifles and have never had to use a small base dies so, if your ammo works, then have no worries.

A wilson case gage will solve problems more often than SB dies. If I were buying a die for an auto loader chambered in a cartridge that I didn't already have dies for, I'd buy small base. Otherwise, I'd try standard dies first.

I have found, however, that it seems to be easier with my progressive to size them correctly with small base dies.

I use a plain ole Lee Deluxe 223 die set for my Colt Match HBar without any problems.

I never needed a small base die for my AR15. In the past 2 years I have had zero failures with standard (Type-S) dies in over 2,000 rounds.

The trick with most AR15s is to get and keep the BCG properly lubed and the feed ramps polished.