• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Bag or bipod?

Rastoff

Private
Minuteman
Sep 7, 2013
So Cal (Near Edwards AFB)
I'm relatively new to long range shooting. I've got a Ruger Precision Rifle and an LR308. At the moment I only have one scope; Vortex Viper PST 4-16x50 FFP(mrad).

I have a bipod that's OK. It's made by a company called Green Blob and is an Atlas clone. I also have Caldwell shooting bags. For some reason, I seem to shoot better from the bag. Is this in my head or can it be real? If real, what could possibly be causing the difference? I mean, both seem to hold the rifle very still.

I think the bag can be a bit more forgiving if recoil management is not perfect.

Agreed, I have found a front bag to be more forgiving but a bipod and rear bag to be easier and equally accurate once you get the hang of it.

To fully utilize the bipod you need to "Load it" which is pushing your weight and shoulder into it. for the best results and accuracy you have to load it to the same amount each time. Always go with what gives you better groups. It's a personal preference, loading the bipod will also help with managing recoil where a bag would offer no recoil management. I prefer to use a bipod whether I'm shooting prone or on a bench. Here's an older video Lowlight did. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjG1JZxiui0