• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Barreled Action and Chassis Help

Fletcher22

Private
Minuteman
Jan 17, 2024
USA
I'm new in the realm of precision shooting and have been looking into getting a bolt gun setup. Previously I had been considering the Seekins Precision Havak Hit, but after reading a post (possibly from here) and seeing the issue of availability (like ordering a spare barrel, etc), I've decided to look elsewhere.

The Aero Precision Solus looks to be a decent start for a barreled action (6.5 CM) and throwing it into a KRG Whiskey chassis. But I wanted to get some input from folks who have more time behind bolt guns in general.

Primary I want to stick with a barreled action to start (or a complete rifle depending on the chassis) within the same price range (current price for Solus and KRG setup above is ~$1700. Eventually I'd like to have whatever is needed to do a barrel swap and what not, but for now I'd like to keep to just installing a chassis. Also, I could expand that budget if keeping it as a separate barreled action and chassis to avoid to huge cost all at once. Note that the budget above does not include scope and scope rings (for reference considering the Leupold MK4HD or MK5HD).

I'm open to suggestions on other barreled or other info that would be useful for starting the journey on precision shooting.

The solus action is on sale right now at Patriot Valley Arms for 1099 and it's really hard to find a better deal than that. Once you configure the barrel to have 5/8x24 barrel threading it should be around 1100 bucks. The Osprey barrels usually shoot quite well.