• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Best Caliber to Learn Long Range Shooting

SamWise637

Private
Minuteman
Dec 11, 2021
DFW, Texas
Hey everyone, I'm looking to get a bolt action rifle that I would do mainly PRS league shooting and some occasional hunting with. I was looking at options like a Springfield Waypoint, Ruger Precision, Seeking Havok PH2. My main question is what would be the best caliber to learn how to shoot long ranger with? I've had some say the .308, some have said the 6.5/6mm/7mm. Just looking for some advice. I have little experience with PRS and long range shooting but I went out to a PRS event and really enjoyed it. Thanks for all the help! Any other advice is more than welcome

308 will challenge you more, as it’s ballistically inferior to the common 6mm and 6.5mm chamberings while also delivering more recoil. If you like to fight for it, this is your cartridge.

6.5 CM is a great all-around cartridge, with a lot of factory offerings for both match and target ammo. For strictly PRS, I wouldn’t get any other 6.5 cartridge, but I also probably wouldn’t get any 6.5 for strictly gaming. For a crossover round that’s a good hunting cartridge, it’ll serve well, although 6.5 PRC or 6.5 / 7 SAUM are more tailored to hunting.