• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Best Long Range Cartridge

LtColRet

Private
Minuteman
Feb 1, 2021
Wyoming
Looking to build a long range sniper type rifle, but having trouble deciding on the best round to use. Currently thinking of either the .375 Cheytec, .338 Edge, .300 Win Mag, or the .338 RUM. I’m new to the long range game and all these cartridges seem pretty similar in performance. Looking for some thoughts on why one is better than the others. Thanks

What do you consider long range?

The .375 will be the best for ELR but not needed until you get out to 2-2.5k yards or more. If you consider long range to be 1000-1500 yards I would look at different calibers all together.

Last edited:
Platforms are very different, what are you going to use it for and will you carry it? How far are you realistically taking shots? Do you need a lot of energy for terminal performance?

A 300 win mag or 300 PRC is my sweet spot for performance vs no longer portable.

I wouldn't want to carry a 375C farther than truck to range spot.

If you think about the action first:

Smaller Action: .300WM, 6.5PRC, .300PRC
Larger Action: .300NM, .338NM, .338LM

All above are generally good to a mile.

Reactions: j-huskey
Currently, without jumping in headfirst on a new build, consider the availability-or lack thereof of components.

What ranges will you likely be shooting the most and what do you plan to use the rifle for?

While bigger is better in spotting hits/misses as the distance increases, would a 300 WM/PRC probably fill most of your needs?

I'm assuming that you reload, once again availability and cost of quality ammunition suitable for LR/ELR is another can of worms altogether!

Then there's optics...

Pretty Vague question.