• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Best Stock Type

Haggis

Private
Minuteman
Jul 23, 2022
Essex
Hi I'm a newbie to rifles been a clay shooter 25 years. Wandered what people's thoughts on the pros and cons for the various stock types? I'm thinking about a Cz 455/457 or maybe a Begara BMR. Also I would need to lengthen the stock.

Reactions: obx22
Hi I'm a newbie to rifles been a clay shooter 25 years. Wandered what people's thoughts on the pros and cons for the various stock types? I'm thinking about a Cz 455/457 or maybe a Begara BMR. Also I would need to lengthen the stock.
Wood will always be the old standard. Cool to touch in summer, warm in winter.
Synthetic has its fans, you don’t have to baby it, and some can even be readily repaired without showing.
Alloy is unparalleled in rigidity, and some designs allow bolt-on accessories, configurable shapes, interchangeable grips, etc.
Hybrids and exotic materials/laminates, with resonance deadening materials, mini chassis skeletons and sub structures, they seek to combine the best of all types.
If you started with a Remington 700 style action, you could likely own a different stock configuration for every day of the year, and your opinion and use would be the best determining factor.

Reactions: Williwaw
Boyd is now making stock for all three. you can get to the length you want, or a get fully adjustable. If you are looking for a Chassis, most have adjustable length of pull. The 455 may be hard to find Chassis, due to the gun no longer being made, I know KRG dropped the Bravo for the 455. BMR may be too new for a Chassis. You can find anything for a 457.