• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Blowing primers at MINIMUM load?

19dsniper

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 25, 2010
Fort Hood Texas
Need a little help here. I have been reloading for over 10 years and have never had this happen before, so now i am stumped.

Rifle: DPMS LR 308 24" barrel

Brass: LC 11 Match prep (FL resize with Redding competition die, swage primer pocket, trim to 2.010", debur flash hole, chamfer case mouth inside and out.)
Powder: Hodgdon Varget starting at 42.0 grains-45.0 grains in 0.2 grain increments. All weighed out on an RCBS Chargemaster combo and every 5th powder charge double checked on a beam scale.
Primer: Winchester Large Rifle
Bullet: 175 grain SMK separated by weight (0.2 grain extreme spread)
COAL: 2.80"

Temp: 55 degrees
Elevation ASL: 850 ft.
Humidity: 22%

I loaded these up starting at 42.0 grains based off of Hodgdons reloading information, and information i gathered from other reloading manuals.
At 42.0 grains of Varget i noticed my primers are not flat but i did have SLIGHT cratering, and i don't have any other pressure indicators except that on one of them i had a small pinhole pierce on the far side of the primer body where it meets the primer pocket. I figured this to be a fluke or that the case wasn't swaged correctly as the other 4 cases fired at 42.0 grains did not show any pressure signs. So i continued to the 42.2 grains.