• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Borescope pictures - What is this? Wheres the freebore?

tactical328

Private
Minuteman
Jan 12, 2021
WASHINGTON
Just borescoped this Mcgowen 7mm RSAUM, instructed to cut .180" freebore and chamber when ordering the barrel. Can someone tell me what I am looking at here?
I see rifling all the way to the chamber neck and no freebore. I am not an expert but zero of my barrels look anything close to this, what are those machine marks between the lands? Compared to my Southern Precision cut Bartlein, Shilen, Carbonsix, this chambering looks completely fucked.

Experts please chime in before I go off screaming

Thanks!

20220121_183922.jpg
20220121_183928.jpg

no I haven't touched anything, I assume I'm going to have to send it back or to a gunsmith to fix this. You can see shavings and oil from chambering - which I'm not worried about.

The problem is they threw a worn tool that didn't cut a proper freebore and what little it did cut isn't even concentric.

You’ll see a better image without all that crap distracting you but it doesn’t look like a long throat 7 saum.
Maybe they run a minimal freebore reamer and cut to order with a throater but forgot to use the throater?

It's possible to check your seating depth with the barrel off, so try that. If you barrel is fitted, then check your seating depth. Report back findings.