Chronograph

Peacemaker1783

Private
Minuteman
Aug 5, 2017
5
1
Hello, I am looking to get a chronograph but really have no idea where to start. I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations?

Thanks!
 

Fursniper

Captain, USMM (retired)
Full Member
Minuteman
Feb 13, 2017
2,173
52
Arizona
Magnitospeed is probably the best all around deal for the money, easy to set up, lots of features and very accurate.
 

KWilson

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Jan 30, 2012
519
77
44
Sydney, NSW, Australia
I'd save the extra coin and go for a LabRadar. I've used both Magnetospeed and LabRadar and I'll be buying a LabRadar next year. More user friendly IMO.
 

Fursniper

Captain, USMM (retired)
Full Member
Minuteman
Feb 13, 2017
2,173
52
Arizona
I'd save the extra coin and go for a LabRadar. I've used both Magnetospeed and LabRadar and I'll be buying a LabRadar next year. More user friendly IMO.

They tend to be rather delicate, I'd wait for a gen II version. If you get one, handle with care.
 

Matches Malone

Jihad Joe
Full Member
Minuteman
Mar 6, 2017
907
980
Your moms bed
All chrono's have a pro's and con's. I would say everyone can agree that the light sensor chrono's are the most headache for obvious reasons. I would look up some of the pros and cons of both the magneto and labradar and decide whats best for you.
 

DMascari18

Private
Full Member
Minuteman
Jun 25, 2017
41
0
Charlotte NC
Magnetospeed for sure. Maybe save for a labradar. I have a CED m2 with infrared screens and it does the job, however since the magnetospeed came out it's been a big development. The best aspect of using any type of chronograph that non optical is you don't have to worry about shooting it by accident.
 

JCCinOhio

Private
Full Member
Minuteman
Jul 6, 2014
138
19
If you're lucky enough to be able to shoot on your own property, I'd say LabRadar is the way to go. If you have to put up with a public range then Magnetospeed is probably the better option.

With the LabRadar just don't get it wet, or drop it, or let the wind blow it over and you should be fine. I can switch from shooting pistol standing, to using it prone in no time at all (maybe a minute), and shoot any number of different rifles without changing my setup.

Oh yeah, with the LabRadar there's also the possibility of jacking up the mini-USB port by tripping on the cord.. I use a 12" cord and an external 12000mah battery that is in camera lens bag hanging off one of the knobs of the ball head on the stand. So decreases the chance of screwing up the USB port.
 
Last edited:

TripleBull

This one goes to 11
Full Member
Minuteman
  • Feb 13, 2017
    4,646
    26,447
    Sunny Colorado
    With the LabRadar just don't get it wet, or drop it, or let the wind blow it over and you should be fine.

    Or, as Loudon Wainwright says: "Don't laugh and don't fart and don't sneeze."

    I treat mine like it's a blasting cap. I'd never look at it cross-eyed.

     

    Crazy1323

    Private
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Dec 5, 2013
    159
    46
    I’ve owned the light sensor type, magnetospeed, and LabRadar.

    100% I use LabRadar. Nothing touching the barrel and minimal setup.
     

    04JRB

    Supporter
    Supporter
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Feb 11, 2017
    176
    60
    Michigan
    After buying a magnetospeed, I cant believe I dealt with setting up the old chrony for so long.
     

    earthquake

    Area Man
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Supporter+
  • Jul 30, 2009
    2,676
    1,778
    USA
    For those of you with MPA chassis, they are releasing a device soon that attaches the Magnetospeed to the chassis....no more strapping it to your barrel. I am very much looking forward to this!
    I love my MS, but am annoyed by the straps and blocks when switching it around on different rifles, cans, and barrel profiles.
    Just thought I'd mention it in case the OP has an MPA.
     

    WaltHer

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Aug 26, 2009
    935
    1,036
    hillbilluns, montucky
    I have both MS and LR. LR IS the shit. Faster setup, easier to use-no s#itty spacers, trackedwith my verified MV's +/- 6fps, chrono all the time- load development, 0'ing, field shooting. Works from prone, bench, offhand. Not throwing shots away with POI changes. Awesome. Fragile, but awesome
     
    Last edited:

    James Abram

    F’in Nobody
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Feb 16, 2017
    167
    126
    Oklahoma
    I have the Magnetospeed, my shooting buddy has the LabRadar. We use both, but for some reason or another, we always end up packing the LR up and using the MS, the MS just works!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

    vh20

    Gunny Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Dec 2, 2012
    3,172
    2,846
    57
    ^^What's the "some reason or another"?
     

    RRW

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Mar 2, 2013
    354
    244
    57
    Alberta.,Canada
    I have the Magnetospeed, my shooting buddy has the LabRadar. We use both, but for some reason or another, we always end up packing the LR up and using the MS, the MS just works!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    ^^^Pretty much in the same boat. I have the Magnetospeed V3 and shooting partner has the LabRadar. The Magnetospeed has yet to miss a shot on both rifles and the LabRadar has not been as reliable. Also the LabRadar has failed to worked on several occasions at our outdoor work range.The walls and concrete baffles and proximity to other shooters may be doing something to it, I don't know enough about how it works to say for sure but the bottom line is it doesn't work enough in those conditions to say its reliable,the Magnetospeed however has been very reliable.and just plain works.
     

    THE SENTINEL

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Apr 7, 2005
    778
    133
    57
    USA
    I drove mine today Very easy to use works great

    <a href="http://imgur.com/dMOaJvb"><img src="http://i.imgur.com/dMOaJvb.jpg" title="source: imgur.com" /></a>
     

    spife7980

    Luchador
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Feb 10, 2017
    11,215
    11,431
    Central TX
    Does the V3 work if you running a silencer??

    Yep, has a silicone band that you put under the strap as heat abatement.
    [IMG2=JSON]{"data-align":"none","data-size":"full","height":"1020","width":"765","src":"http:\/\/i.imgur.com\/LLYten9.jpg"}[/IMG2]
     

    -=boone=-

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jan 6, 2009
    1,086
    265
    Charleston, WV
    Purchased the Magneto sporter yesterday on sale from Midway for $160.
    I personally cant justify $400 for the M3.
    if you don't balk at the $400 the M3 is the way to go. More user friendly and the ability to use with suppressors and a rail mount.