• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Clip on for a HNT26

Jnull

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 22, 2020
I know the HNT26 isn’t the ideal chassis for a clip on but it’s what I got. This is an all around shortish light hunting rifle for day or night use that’s why I want to use a clip on and not a dedicated night scope. Night use will probably be a secondary for me to use when I have a friend or my wife with me and I put them on my AR that has a dedicated thermal scope.

Absolute longest shot would probably be around 600 yards but most being 200 or less, specs are a 22 creedmoor 20” proof 8 twist NX8 2.5-20 MIL-XT F1. I have no experience with clip ons but most here seem to hate bell mounted setups and it looks like that’s what I’m limited to. Are there repeatably issues using scope mounted clip ons? I’m probably looking at the pulsar krypton 2 FXG50 or super yoter C. Any other similar options to look at?

I’ll probably pair it with a vortex impact 4000 mounted to the left side of the handguard since my action is a nanook with integrated split rail sections, unless someone can point me to a 1 piece scope mount that’ll bridge the gap between the rail sections and offer a bridge to mount the LRF.

Im open to suggestions on setting up this rifle but I think options are pretty limited due to the HNT26.

My personal core team has members with interest in HNT26 and hence we have studied the issue, though haven't done it yet.