• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Could someone please help a paper puncher wrap his brain around FFP/SFP in real life?

E_T_G

Private
Minuteman
Mar 29, 2012
Las Vegas, NV
Hi, All.
I have read until my eyes hurt and just can't get this to click in my head. I have shot paper for over 60 years and I know how to work up a load and get the best groups I can. Hasn't mattered much to me if it was FFP or SFP shooting at a stationary target. What I have little experience with is setting up for a first shot in the field. I've shot my share of ground hogs without any issues, but at 200 yds or less with a 25-06 it would take a gail force wind to have much of an effect on the trajectory. I am going to put a scope on a new-to-me SSG-69 PI. Doing some long range hunting is on my bucket list. If someone could walk me through setting up for that first shot with a FFP and a SFP I would really appreciate it.

To set the scenario lets say the range finder says the target is at 750 yds. The little Kestrel says I have a quartering 9mph headwind from the right and all the other atmospheric data it gives. The target is say 200' lower than me with a clear shot. The rifle will be zeroed at 200 yds. Cartridge is a 308 with 175 SMK at around 2700 fps. How would you set up for the shot with a FFP and then with a SFP. The scope will either be a NX8 4-32x50 or a NXS 8-32x56. I know I could just punch the numbers into a balistics calculator but I really would like to understand it. Your help with tyrying to get through my thick scull is greatly appreciated.

You just need to understand the difference in FFP and SFP . The rest isn't related to that and is the same for whatever distance, elevation, atmospherocs, and wind.