• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Crimped primer pockets

Rmitch223

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 14, 2009
Oklahoma City
I recently acquired 200pcs of once fired federal .223 Rem brass.

I'm fairly new to loading for .223 and all the brass I have worked with up to this point has not had crimped primer pockets.

So last night I made a quick trip to bass pro to get a Lyman primer pocket reamer to remove the crimps. I attached the reamer to my RCBS trim mate it ran 25 cases threw using it. Visually it looked like the reamer removed the crimp.

Then I went to prime these 25 cases and the primers would not even start into the primer pocket.
So I guess this Lyman reamer did not remove the crimp.
The O.D. of the reamer measured .169" and a unspent primer (CCI No. 400) measured .175".

What in-expensive tool do I need to remove these crimps?

After removing the crimp, I would then use a Lyman Primer Pocket Uniformer. That should take care of it. Works great on the Trim Mate! You should only have to use the uniformer once on your brass. It should not need uniformed again in the future. I'm still a newb, but I've found it very very helpful to have a primer pocket uniformer for everything I've loaded so far. Even for new brass. New brass isn't perfect and the uniformer makes the primer pocket correct & consistent from round to round. I use it on once fired brass too.

Last edited:
I use a 45degree countersink bit in a drill press. Chuck it up, turn it on and just touch the primer pocket to the bit to remove the crimp.
I also have the RCBS tool and it sucks.

+1 for the Dillon Super Swage. At $100 it's an investment, but you can also then use military 9mm, and I recently found some factory .308 rounds have crimped pockets as well.