• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Dual Sport/Enduro Motorcycle-Need Advice

JimT

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 13, 2004
Sterling, AK
I have long had the desire for a dual sport/enduro style bike. I figure it is about time to scratch it off the bucket list. I need some input on make/model. Things to consider:

I am a complete beginner
6'4" 250 lbs
Looking for a used bike...no sense buying new as I haven't a clue about this subject

The Yamaha XT250 is out.....too small, which is unfortunate, because a good friend is the local Yammy dealer. I have been told the Honda 650 is really underpowered for its displacement. I do not have any brand loyalties.

Jim

Have you given any consideration to ATVs? With your current inexperience, it wouldn't be that hard on you. I'm also taking into account your location too, and the potential utility a ATV could provide for you.

As far as choices for bikes, consider some of the Kawasakis, or the Suzukis. Also, most bikes can be adjusted to suit your height, and weight. Consider some aftermarket dealers, as an example the Dennis Kirk company, if you can't find anything from the OEM that will work for you. I like how the Yamaha has some models with turn signals installed for those localities that require it for bikes that use the road.

Best of luck to you.

Find a Honda XR650 - XR, not the XL, that's been converted to street legal (or if you're so inclined, do that part yourself - look at Baja Designs for the parts). You're in AK - you'll want the off-road capability, with the option of jumping on the road. It's a big bike; it'll fit you fine. I'm about your size and had one for several years before a messed up neck stopped my off-roading.