• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Ear pro recommendation

NJRaised

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Feb 7, 2021
Port Murray NJ
Hey all…. I’ve been using a pair Peltor Tactical Pro’s for the past 8 years and they’re finally taking a dive. Aside from being big and heavy, they were excellent. I was blown away at the price of them (mine were issued by PD) and they’re also now discontinued.

I’d like to get another set of “heavy duty” muffs that really drown out the noise. No one close by has anything to sample.

I’m looking at the sordin pro x sfa, which is apparently their highest level of protection, and can find them for $275 online. Does anyone have experience with them?

I never had to double up with the tactical pros, which I liked, but they were also very bulky. I’d prefer to keep that same level of protection if possible.

The Sordins are great. Be sure to get the gel ear cups. I added them to mine and they make them both more comfortable and block out sounds better. I wear them more often than any other ear pro I have.

I will say though that the Pro Ears Gold do a better job with their electronics. With the Sordins I get a hiss/static when I turn the volume up. I don't get any hiss at all with the Pro Ears Gold. I wear the Sordins more because the headband is metal and they are just more comfortable to wear and seem to be built better. The Pro Ears have a lot of plastic and they squeeze my head more, but the sound is definitely better

Reactions: FredHammer
Price no object, Opscore AMP w/ NFMI.
Thanks for reminding me I'm a poor! That's some seriously cool tech, I always struggle with doubling up on ear pro and not being able to hear conversations, even with Sordins

Reactions: Crumbro