• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

FL sizing

farrier

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 14, 2011
NY
To those who know more.
I'm new to reloading (>1200 rnds) and I think I am over-resizing my brass. I use a RCBS comp die set and following the instructions, I raised the press ram and screwed the FL die down to where it touched the ram. The resultant rounds were tight with two out of ten not allowing me to close the bolt. I went back to the press and started turning down the die 1/8 turn at a time and trying to chamber the brass. I got to the point where the bolt closes easily but wonder if I went to far and am overworking my brass. I'm talking about a .308 in a Rem 700 sps. Any thoughts?
Thanks, Mike

Re: FL sizing

Do you mean threading the whole die deeper into the press? I fail to see how that would change anything if the shell plate already makes contact with the die base.

FWIW, in my stock Rem700 .308 chamber, a FL dies gives me the same results (1 or so in 10 not chambering or chambering too tight). I went with a small base die and all is well.

You really need a comparator tool to accurately measured fired/sized cases. I use the one from Hornady but there are several. Measure a group of fired cases and write down measurement. I usually measure 10 when first setting up a die for new rifle. Set up die as per instructions and then back it out about 1/2 turn. Size a case and measure the shoulder set back. You're looking for .001. If it's not getting bumped adjust the die in just a little and try again. Use small changes, doesn't take much to go too far.