• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Flinching ?

PRSnewbie

Private
Minuteman
Feb 15, 2021
Maine
I am very new to shooting. I am getting 2 rounds into a 1 inch dot at 100 yards and then I will group the next 3 or 4 low and left. I am shooting 6.5 Creedm and it feels like I am getting kicked in the face by a mule each tie I pull the trigger. I think the rifle has 1/2 the recoil of my Sig .308 but shooting the two is entirely different experience. Any thoughts on what is going on will be greatly appreciated.

If you get a flinch it will happen almost every shot. It will even happen on other rifles. The only way to get past it is to practice your fundementals, if it feels like a mule kicking your face then you are positioned wrong on the gun. Maybe you need a higher cheek weld, or lower rings. I aquired a flinch from a 300 wby mag once. It lasted for about a week until i shot thru it. It really taught me alot about position on the rifle and how to mitigate recoil.

Reactions: oldiephrt
You can have a buddy load a couple dummy rounds and see your behavior through the scope if you think you are flinching.
This. Or buy them. Let your buddy load the magazine also. If you do it then the experiment has already failed.

If a 6.5CM is hammering on you that much then something isn't right. I would suggest combing over the years and years of posts in this: https://www.snipershide.com/shooting/threads/fundamentals-of-marksmanship.123/

Or if you are a more visual person, check out this for an example.

Reactions: Just Chuck
I have not ever used dummy rounds. I should maybe.
But I use dry fire between firing live rounds.
With rifle I shoot 223 so flinching really is not why I do this, mainly to improve trigger pull.