• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Timo Turl

Minuteman
May 24, 2010
I've never owned a handgun so plse excuse these fairly basic and broad questions. I appreciate that the answers might come down to individual choice but would appreciate some guidance all the same:

1. Would anyone discourage me from choosing either a G19 or H&K P30(S) for my first handgun ? It will be used for target shooting and to a lesser extent concealed carry.

2. I haven't a clue about handgun ammo. I'm looking for a recommendation on both a good defensive bullet (perhaps Corbon ?) and a good quality option to practice with that is usually available at most stores. I intend to put plenty of rounds downrange and i'm no expert so paying up for the very best ammo at this stage isn't going to benefit me (?). What would be a good choice from a cost/reliability/consistency & availability perspective that won't leave me either searching the country for it or wondering if it is me or the bullet causing the crap shooting (yes it will be me) ?

3. Holsters - there are literally hundreds to choose from and I know it will eventually come down to what suits me best but can you help narrow the list down a little for me ? I'm looking for a good quality hip/belt carry (not inside the waistband) that can double-up for conealed carry on rare occasions. I'd prefer some sort of tough fabric holster than leather but if that isn't recommended plse shout. What are the top 1-2 brands I should try to focus on ?

Thank you
laugh.gif

Re: G19 & H&K P30

I like the Glocks, I own several, including two 19's.
I would recommend a good 9mm bonded bullet, Hornady, Winchester Ranger, etc.