• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Glass bedding

Ethan87

Private
Minuteman
Aug 4, 2021
Nc
Hey y’all, im getting a b&c medalist stock for my weatherby vanguard s2, and am planning on glass bedding it because im sure it wont fit perfect. This is my first time doing this. My question is, how much material should i dremmel and what areas should i dremmel from the stock? I will attempt bedding from the recoil lug to the tang. Ive heard that you should leave a sliver of material untouched as a height refrence but i dont know where to do that at.

Thanks in advance

Before you get carried away, install the action in the stock and shoot it.
B&C makes a really decent stock and the Howa/Vanguard is a really decent action.
They may not need bedding.
I understand that, its just i know my luck lol. Im definitely gonna shoot it first im just getting prepared for the worst

Leaving aside whether or not you should bed (I don't believe it's bad to do if done properly, and it's a joy to have a "fit like a glove" between the stock and BA, although it makes resale a pain), I'll try to answer your question.