• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hand Loads 300WM

joshkaj1991

Private
Minuteman
Jan 14, 2023
Torrance, California
Hello All,

Newbie to SnipersHide and to reloading, but have done a lot of reading/research on here and some other sites. I recently got a 300WM rifle and am trying to get started reloading (just been shooting factory stuff). I am starting with target shooting to try and find loads my rifle (Bergara B-14) likes. Since I am new to reloading, I am not trying to go with anything hot and staying way off the lands (not trying to get fancy for starting out). With that said, I have some Sierra MatchKing BTHP 168gr and Hornady ELD-M 195gr pills and have managed to get some H1000, IMR4350, Accurate 4350, and H4831SC. Working with some once-fired brass I have FL sized and bumped shoulder back ~0.002". Have CCI #250 primers.

My main question is what do you guys suggest as some good starting loads and should I just go to SAAMI specs or measure distance to the lands and work off that (which will be quite a bit more than a COAL of 3.340"). I have the Hornady Handbook and for 168gr bullets its suggesting a starting load of 58.1gr of IMR4350 that should push 2700 fps, but with some research it seems that is a really light load. I don't want to go too light as I know that can be dangerous too. I am trying to get more pills but some are difficult to find. I'd like to find Berger 215 hybrids as I hear those are a good go to for 300WM.

Any help you guys can provide to a newbie is much appreciated!

Thanks

What brass do you have? Case volume is important.