• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Help me choose dies for my Co-ax

KYpatriot

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 31, 2009
wishing i was in KY
Howdy ya'll I have a F. Co-ax on the way to get started reloading on my .308. I know this is a good press based on all the reviews on it here and elsewhere, but I am wondering what I need in terms of the dies. Hoping someone can help me choose.

I will be reloading for a Rem7005r, 24" stock everything. Mostly long range target but will work up some hunting loads too. I am beginning with Varget, 175SMKs, CCIbr2s and the FGMM brass I have. Eventually I would like to get into competition but for know I am just learning, bangin steel out to 650 or so until I can get access to a place to shoot 1000yds.

Now what dies do I need and why? RCBS set is about $30. Forster bench rest dies seem to go about 60-70 and the Forster ultra dies are $88 or so.

What justifies the the ultra dies price? I want to produce great ammo and eventually plan to fully match prep the brass like in doc's thread but dont have all that yet. Does the ultra make it easier to change seating depth or something?

Should I spring for the ultra micrometer style die now (in other words is this something I will need later for comps?)I know its only $50 extra but then again it is $50 towards a powder measure or something and I'm not made of money.

Also, can I set the Forster full length resize die to just resize the necks or do most guys FL resize every time? seems like fireformed brass would be a good thing for accuracy but obviously I am in new waters here...