• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help me prioritize. New stock vs. handloading

Defusion

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 15, 2008
Netherlands
I'm new to this bolt-action game (or rifles even), i do pistol shooting primarily.
I have shot some bolt guns though.

Now i want to get started, and have done some reading.

The plan is:
- Remington 700 sps varmint .308
- swfa 10x scope (ordered)
- seekins mount/base (ordered)
buy some ammo, shoot it.

Now i dont live in the US, and match grade .308 factory rounds are nowhere near affordable (€2($2.5) per round of lapua).
I will start by shooting some PPU .308 168gr "match" which is much more affordable, but probably nowhere near as good as for example FGGM (which we cant get over here), or super expensive lapua stuff.

The plan is to both upgrade the stock to an AICS and also start handloading.
It'll be a few months before i can buy the gun due to local gun laws. But when i do have the gun, i should have enough spare cash to either get into handloading and buy some supplies for that OR buy that AICS stock i want but keep buying sub-par factory rounds until funds recover.

I hope someone can knock some sense in to me, and pursuade in either direction. I want to know what would probably be most beneficial.

I will be shooting on 100m indoor ranges mostly (90%), 300m about 9% of the time, and hopefully push it to 1000y the other 1% of the time (but probably not until i dohandloading and have that stock).

Re: Help me prioritize. New stock vs. handloading

I personally would deal with the stock first. I don't care for the stock that comes on the SPS rifles and the AICS stocks are great. But I do see your point about ammo costing a lot for you... its a tough call honestly...