• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help newbie find a node!

locash78

Private
Minuteman
Jul 20, 2022
Colorado
Hey guys, I’m brand new to this. Would anybody care to look at my very first test results ? I fired 3 strings of shots, 1 at each target with about a minute between each shot. The ambient temperature spiked from 80 to 98 during the test, would that explain the vertical difference between each string of shots? I was thinking #7,8,9 and 10,11,12 might be worth looking into? My shooting wasn’t that great today, it was miserably hot, I was getting eaten by fire ants and there the mirage was severe. All groups could have been tighter if the conditions were little better. Also, do you see any pressure signs on my brass? The bolt lift on my CZ 550 is always kind of heavy due to very stiff firing mechanism spring. Any advice and opinions are appreciated!

Attachments

• IMG_7553.jpeg
    IMG_7553.jpeg
    709.8 KB · Views: 114
  • IMG_7569.jpeg
    IMG_7569.jpeg
    313.8 KB · Views: 116
I would agree with your #7,8,9 choice and suggest the #12,13 load.

The brass looks fine to me. What bullet are you using?

Brass looks fine to me. I agree you should revisit 11-13 with #11 being the obvious winner for today. Vertical stringing can be caused by several variables. What powder are you using? If it’s a temp stable powder, the difference in ambient temp wouldn’t cause that much of an impact shift. More likely do to velocity variations and barrel harmonics in my opinion with what little info I have. How quickly did you run through it? Was the barrel getting too hot? Like I said, several things to consider. I would suggest posting your full load so everyone has more info to work with.

Last edited: