• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

help reading first ladder test.

42769vette

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 4, 2009
liberty indiana
cal 7mm rem mag
powder h4831
bullet 160gr game king
col 3.248
rifle factory rem 700 adl
range 215yds
temp 83 and very little wind

this is my first time doing a ladder test and im not sure how to read what i shouldload next. hodgen says min is 58gr and max is 60gr. no load showed the least little sign of pressure. and i gave a minute or 2 cooling time between shots

i loaded in .4 gr incrments

gr velcity poi

58 2493 5.5 low-.3 left

58.4 2508 3.3 low-.2 right

58.8 error 4 low-.4 right

59.2 2495 3 low-.3 left

59.6 2545 3 low-.2 left (trigger jerk)

60 2537 1 low-.5 right

are these resolte so scattered i need to start from scratch and load some a little hotter?

Re: help reading first ladder test.

Your velocities seem pretty slow. I recommend trying a different powder such as Reloader 25.

Vette if you could get a pic up that would be great

and for the record, wind does not matter so only look at the VERTICAL not the horizontal.

The ladder looks to find the variable to reduce vertical spread, ie consistant bullet drop via finding the barrels relaxed state of harmonics.

Also, your first countable shot should be hitting low, and the following rounds climbing up slightly.

Take your time if you need to, and if possible take it out past 100 yards.. 200-300 is good.

Look for the powder charges that create a group like effect. That will be indicative of a rough accuracy node.

Once you have found this, work around that area and study it further to find the optimal powder load.