• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Help with identifying a FN FAL

J-P

Private
Minuteman
Oct 5, 2022
RSA
Hi guys :)

(My first post here, trust it's appropriate and in the right place - please correct me if not)

I have an option to purchase a FN FAL with serial number G142XX - can anyone provide any insight into this rifle at all?

Some pics attached...

Thanks!

JP

Attachments

• WhatsApp Image 2022-09-22 at 9.53.57 AM.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2022-09-22 at 9.53.57 AM.jpeg
    97.7 KB · Views: 428
  • WhatsApp Image 2022-09-21 at 2.32.16 PM.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2022-09-21 at 2.32.16 PM.jpeg
    158.8 KB · Views: 517
I'm no expert, but a few observations:
Metric pattern FAL rifle
Obviously a FN receiver
has an early style takedown lever
a Type C1 butt-stock (believe these are early style)
Closed ear gas block
I believe it's a standard height rear sight, hard to tell from pictures.
Long belgian flash hider

I'm wondering if it's a Belgian import. From what I can tell, it's a nice rifle.

Appears to be the second most desirable FAL there is in the US. Early "G-series" FALs are actually on an ATF waiver (there may be a better term) but are (+/-?) entirely un-modified from their mil issue variants, so are pretty easy to convert to select fire. So: the most authentic ones that exist. This seems to be a later import (likely 1970s, maybe early 80s) from the higher SN, so will not be readily converted which is fine.

Are there importer marks, or just the FN Belgium stuff?