• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hornady 143 eldx seating depth inconsistences

Nosteponsnek

Senior lance corporal
Supporter
Minuteman
Nov 27, 2017
Lynden,washington
I've been reloading for a few years now for my 6.5cm with Berger 140 and 144 bullets on my foster coaxal press with Redding competition die with a VLD seater and my seating depth has always been constant. i recently switched over to load some 143 eldx for hunting since I cant get any of the 140 élite hunters right now. I loaded up ten to do a pressure test and set them up to be 15 thousands off the lands for the test. I'll load them at 20 thousands off. I noticed with the first round it put a indent on the bullet from the seating stem and all the other ten I loaded had the same indent some seamed a little deeper but nothing extremely different. I checked seating depth and some were 5 thousands and a few were off 10 thousands further out. what would cause this it seams to be only with the eldx? and should i adjust my seating depth so they are all the same with the bullet comparator?

Indent where on the bullet? Can you post some pics?

Are you talking about a small ring around the bullet where the stem makes contact?
Or are you meaning the tips are being dented by the end of the seating stem?

Indent where on the bullet? Can you post some pics?

Are you talking about a small ring around the bullet where the stem makes contact?
Or are you meaning the tips are being dented by the end of the seating stem?
there's a small ring where the steam is making contact on the bullet
ill post some pics when i get home

there's a small ring where the steam is making contact on the bullet
ill post some pics when i get home