• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hornady OAL Modified Cases

JohnWess

Private
Minuteman
Mar 7, 2019
Hello everyone,
I am a newbie on this forum and have a question for all of you with regards to the Hornady modified cases. Does it really matter if the case is the exact same size as one you will be loading and firing? I have heard some people say that in order to get the OAL properly you need to fire a case, resize it, then create a modified case based off of that fired piece of brass. But aren’t we just measuring from, in my case, the base to the ogive? There shouldn’t be much if any change there right? I may be wrong, but any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

With the OAL gauge, you're actually measuring from the chamber shoulder to where the ogive touches the lands because that is where your contact points are. To be precise you need to add the difference between case head to shoulder of the modified case to that of a case fully expanded in your chamber.

The modified case will almost always measure shorter from case head to shoulder.

Unless you want to take a fully fireformed case and drill and tap to make your own. Two ways to skin a cat.

With the OAL gauge, you're actually measuring from the chamber shoulder to where the ogive touches the lands because that is where your contact points are. To be precise you need to add the difference between case head to shoulder of the modified case to that of a case fully expanded in your chamber.

The modified case will almost always measure shorter from case head to shoulder.

Unless you want to take a fully fireformed case and drill and tap to make your own. Two ways to skin a cat.