• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Incipient Case Head Separation?

wilsonmj88

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Aug 11, 2020
I would like to preface this question by saying I am brand new to reloading and I am erroring on the side of caution.

I have just finished de-capping and cleaning my brass. I noticed faint, but distinct, lines on my brass as shown in the picture below. All ~500 cases I have processed seem to have this line. I am concerned that this incipient case head separation that I have read about in my reloading manual.

This seems unlikely however since this is only once fired brass from a stock rifle. Is this incipient case head separation or am I just being paranoid? If it isn’t separation, what could it be for my knowledge. Here is some additional information to help answer the question.
- Caliber: 6.5 Creedmoor
- Once fired Lapua Brass from factory Berger ammunition (140gr Target Hybrid)
- Fired from a bone stock RPR.
- Only ran through a decapping die. I am not really seeing how the decapping die could make these marks.
DB648231-A902-44AB-9BC6-E2F598DBD11D.jpeg

Are the lines on the brass at the lowest point the resizing die touches the cases?

For peace of mind, you can make yourself a tool to check. Get a paper clip, straighten it out enough so it can reach the bottom of the case. Make a small 90 degree bend on the end of the straight section. Scrape the inside wall with your new tool. You're feeling for a dip in the wall instead of a smooth transition. If you can feel an obvious valley, toss the brass. If it's smooth, keep it.

Here are some examples:

YjQuanBn

LmpwZw