• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Length of indicator tip for chambering

hunter223

Major Hide Member
Minuteman
Nov 18, 2007
Odessa Tx
Hey guys I'm wondering what is an acceptable length for an indicator tip for dialing in my barrels before chambering etc? I've been using range rods to good affect but want to decrease my variables. I currently cannot afford an interapid long reach and was wondering if a 1.6" ish tip for my mit .0001 indicator would be sufficient. If you've got another idea please let me know. Thanks

I'm no pro, but I use a tip on mine that is about 1.4 (2x normal length) and I know more than one pro smith that does as well. Just remember your graduations will be .0002 with that long of a tip. I like it because I pre drill the chamber and can fit the indicator body into the chamber so the tip reaches about 2.75" into the barrel.

How do you know that the hole you predrilled is concentric with the bore if you can't read it all the way to the throat before drilling it out?

Last edited:
How do you know that the hope you predrilled is concentric with the bore of you can't read it all the way to the throat before drilling it out?

It's a pretty common practice to pre-drill, dial in the throat then do the rest of the tenon work and single point pre-bore the chamber.

It's a pretty common practice to pre-drill, dial in the throat then do the rest of the tenon work and single point pre-bore the chamber.

Yup. And after you drill it, you can sometimes reach a bit farther in to triple check yourself before you single point cut it.

How do you know that the hope you predrilled is concentric with the bore of you can't read it all the way to the throat before drilling it out?