• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Magtech 6.5 Creedmoor, is this any good?

Allthewatts

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Feb 8, 2020
I'm just getting into the whole rifle hobby, and loving getting out and shooting. Local range has 650y, and really want to be able to keep hitting targets out there. I've got a 6.5 Creedmoor T/C LRR.
I have mostly been shooting with Hornady American Gunner 140 HPBT factory ammo, and its working for me. (I don't know any better). I get consistent grouping of 0.75" grouping at 100yards, 2.8" @ 334yards. I'm not out to have the tightest group ever, want to hit hogs, and steel reasonably accurately. I know I probably should stop buying factory ammo, and just get into hand-loading, but that is just not in the cards for me right now.

I shot a bit of Sellier and Bellot 140g FMJBT, and it grouped super well at 100y. I cant seem to find any more of it, but the Magtech ammo just showed up at the same price, and unless I am missing something, looks to be the same photo of ammo on a few websites. Has anyone tried this stuff? Seems like its the right price for pinking steel.

S&B: https://www.targetsportsusa.com/sellier-bellot-65-creedmoor-ammo-140-grain-fmj-sb65a-p-82517.aspx
MagTech: https://www.targetsportsusa.com/magtech-65-creedmoor-ammo-140-grain-fmj-65a-p-110437.aspx

My boxes of S&B just came today. I was told by other members on here that they are good for target shooting. Plus, good brass if you ever reload. I have those, Hornady match and Hornady black I will try out when the ranges open.

09117C24-A0B9-4D8F-AA57-8D76A2750837.jpeg

The SB 131 grain stuff I had shot extremely well. Like multiple 1/2 moa or better groups and a SD of 15 over 50 recorded rounds. That's excellent for any factory offering.