• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes My first quality long range scope...help please

Tin Shot

Private
Minuteman
Oct 28, 2019
Hi guys, first post from me down in Australia.

I'm building a long range gun on a budget and in Australia we not as spoilt as you are for scopes and good deals.
I have new Savage 110 desert tactical in 6.5 Creedmoor
It is going to be used mostly for silhouette out to 500 yards and long range target shooting out to 1000 yards.
I can get the following scopes all in the same price range and in my budget.
But as I'm new to this style of shooting, having mostly shot open sights and hunted with a 12x old Weaver scope.

All help please will be appreciated in whittling this list down to a choice of two, max three.
Glass quality and clarity is my primary worry, as for as reticles are concerned, I'm favouring the Christmas tree style. But one to advise.

Athlon Ares BTR 4.5-27x50
Burris XTR II 4-20x50 Mil
Buschnell Elite Tactical 6-24x50
Leica ER5 4-20x50 Ballistic Reticle
Meopta Optika 6 3-18×50 FFP
Leopold VX3i 6.5-20x40 EFR CDS
Nightforce Varminter 5.5-22x56
Sightron S2 6-24x50
Zeiss Conquest 6.5-20x50

( most are new, some are demo and second hand but excellent condition)

What would you pick?
Cheers
Tin Shot.

Last edited:
IME I have found that Leupold and Zeiss have fantastic low light gathering capability. You had mentioned hunting above as well so if that is something you’d also be doing I would consider those 2 and then the Nightforce or Burris.

That is just the preference of my eyes though.

Hey mate.
I'm from Australia as well, and currently down the rabbit hole with scopes.
Burris and Bushnell seem to have a strong following and good specs for the value.